I have been reading quotes..thoughts…all which point the barrel down the sight line…and come to one conclusion…

The only way one can know love is through the absence of love…

?????????????????…

The only way one can be light is by first partaking of the dark…

??????????????????????…

The only way one can have compassion is by first being put through torment…

??????????????????…

The only way one can appreciate the sunshine is through standing in a lot of rain…

????????????????…

The only way one can appreciate another is through loss…

??????????????????…

Um, I call bullshit..

And no I will not apologize for my words…

You either do or you do not…

So the thoughts stated above imply..suppose that in order for me to admire the blue sky and sunshine is because I had my head shoved into a mud puddle with bolts of lightening and roaring thunder…

So now I appreciate..understand the twittering birds..the blue blue..the bright warming sun..

And if I complain or speak that the sun is a bit too hot…I am silenced with…it could be worse…some people do not have any..

The constant comparison of the have’s and the have not”s..

The constant…it could be worse…

The constant…well dont you appreciate the food now because you were starved..?

Yea…NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I understood the value of food and that everyone deserves it…well into being starved by my father and food used as a weapon of cooperation in my marriage..and my sons stating that I was not acceptable..so I received leftovers..if there were any…

I knew long before my dad made his children go days with mere droplets of food..and my sons letting me know that I could eat, but they ate first…that food was important and it was deserved..not earned through unattainable measures…

I lived in a space with a man..and to eat..I had to sell my clothes and my sewing machine and fabrics that I had for over 15 years so I could eat..

I knew we lived in an upside down world..

I knew that we had things way backwards…

And that everyone knew that there was plenty and enough for all..but those who operate in brutality..decided who got what..if any..

I do not have to be beaten..to know the comfort of a hug..

And yes I have been beaten and no..I have not known the comfort of a hug..

I do not have to lose someone I love to understand grief and how it affected me..

When my brother was murdered..I understood that his death was painful for him and me…and it could not be soothed by comments suggesting he was in a better place..or God needed another angel…

Tell me how does that ease the suffering…?

It doesn’t…so why is it shoved down our throats and if we do not agree..well let the games begin…

I do not need to have drought to understand streams of water…

I do not have to be able to understand and comfort unless I have had crisis upon crisis in my life…

It is already there within me.. within all of us…

It is a choice to utilize it…

It is like smoking..drinking..whatever…

You say you want to stop…then stop…

Patches, pills, potions, gum…are just another means to the thing you still really dont want to do..

And then you get angry at those committed to not doing those things..choosing different paths…

WHY..?

I don’t have to drink to know I don’t want to drink…

I don’t have to smoke to know I don’t want to smoke…

I did not have to lose my brother..siblings..children..friends to understand grief and to mourn…

And even if I never had those losses…I would still have grief..compassion..sympathy..empathy…

I do not have to have dark to see light…both are present..

I did not have to have sour to taste sweet…both are present…

All is present..

In every moment..every act…

I choose…like you choose…

So the next time someone says to me…

It could be worse…

Or appreciate what you have…someone does not have it…

I think I might return the words like this…

Yes it could be worse..but damn it could be so much better..and it sucks that it is not…because there is no reason it should be this bad..

And I do appreciate it…whatever it may be…but guess what…

Nobody should be eating garbage when we live in a country that throws away so much food…because there is so much food and we are wasteful…aww we are wasteful…

Nobody should be homeless…when we have more housing than we know what to do with..we just believe some deserve things and some do not…

And it all comes down to who you think is acting right…

And I don’t act right…ask my sons..they will tell you..

This becomes a joke…

When we refuse to entertain the thoughts that people grieve..suffer…laugh and smile…and within us we carry the means to ease all suffering…

We cannot stop death…and such…

But there is a lot we can cease…change..renew…

So we do not mutter to the one on the corner…

Smile..it could be so much worse….

Really…????????????

Easy to say…with your Iphone..drinking in your air conditioned Escalade…

Your right…it could be so much worse…

I have to listen to you…

 

 

~ by HopeGlenn on May 28, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
