Commitment….

As all things…each begin with self….

One must take the actions…steps in oneself…and then it moves forward…..

You really cannot ask someone for something or to do something if one is not willing to do it themselves…

And that is the elephant for me sitting in the middle of the room…

I see shows which speak…and studies stating..we are not meant to be monogamous…that we have the inability as a society to stay committed to each other…

They say we just have to roam…

In my view through a recent discovery…I still state it is a choice…

Most things boil down to choice…

How much do I want this…?

In a relationship we all see and have things that need mending…response..

Yet how is it that I can ask another for proof they are committed to me…on a daily basis…and why do we act so…?

Could it be that we are flim…flam…?

Only committed if the other shows some sort of commitment…

Only committed if it meets a certain…check this box criteria….

And why are we so easily derailed from our commitment according to someone else…?

How do we go from..I will work this job…go to school or special training…build up this home and life we share…to…

Ready to believe the worst…consider it all a sham…throw in the towel and state levels of deserving…based on how another acts…?

Does that not show our commitment level…?

Yes someone may be wavering..or flat out not committed…

But how is that changing our trajectory for the places we want to go…places we want to see….

How does…I will work this job…finish this education…because I want to go to Italy…and pursue a space I have holding in….

To…

Okay I will work 2 jobs…go to school…and save up…for…

Maybe you will like me…be present with me…help you buy a bigger television…cause the 50 inch one is not quite big enough….I cannot quite see the nose hairs on the person 3 people behind the main lead….

How does…and why does another step away…lack of follow through…now make me…not follow through and compromise my dream…my desire…my life I wish to see in technicolor…

WHY…?

Does it show their lack of…or mine…?

I will say mine…

I make the choice to say…when another does something I find…fluctuating…

OH…there are other fish in the sea…I will find a better one….

I am the one to say…I will back off of loving…pursuing a heart…loving a heart because they are not acting right….

I will bury my dream…in a black plastic bag…shoved in the back of the closet deep…

And say…money money money is what I want…

So do I have the ability to keep my eyes focused on one person…and commit through it all…

OR…

Do I choose to open the periscope and look about matey….

It boils down to one thing….

And always will…

How committed am I to self…..?

Am I valuable…?

Am I worthy…?

Do I understand the premise…

If I cannot keep the commitment to me…follow through…speak..direct my attention away from all the fluff…focus myself down to value…

Then I can never commit myself to another…

And that just aint the hunk..or the beauty queen…we all think our partners are…

It is our children…our employer…our parents…our friends…our siblings..our co-workers…

It is the life which surrounds us…

If I cannot do me….

I cannot do you…

 

~ by HopeGlenn on April 1, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
