Fake it…

Till you become it….
In a recent talk with my accountability friend/coach….she cornered me on something I said…..
I said….
I cannot do this (fill in the blank)…..until I get these gremlins off my back…
Oh the great…when all the conditions are right and the stars line up…and this crosses my path…I will do it…maybe stick my toe in the water….
And it reminded me of how things come into your life….and the time and place…according to what we need and how we need it and when we need it….it all lines up…like some scene from a movie….
And you only get it…if you pay attention and choose to be awake and read the “signs” along the roadway….
Earlier this week I saw a TED talk…I watch them frequently….new addiction….
And her tag line was…”Fake it till you become it”….
And she told her story of getting there….and how the belief of these things…keep us from getting there or being this or that….so fake it..till you were IT…
She told her story..and we all have a story that propels us in a direction…and sometimes the story rules our life and we never do anything different than be that story…(another great tidbit my accountability friend said)…and one day…someone walks in the room and calls you the thing you have been faking….and you have become it….
And most of us…feel like we do not deserve…or not allowed…or must do things in the manner everyone else is doing them…
And as a sideline…they all seem so happy… RIGHT?
And so we have 500 gremlins hanging onto our coat….
And they will be there…and they all lose their fear they incite…every time we do this…
Go into a room we say we are not qualified to do…
Interview for a job we seemingly have no qualifications for….
Speak about something like shame…love…acceptance…
Do something that we say we are not allowed to do….and others agree….
Except those few who grab us by our coats when we are fleeing…and we say…I am not supposed to be here….
Most will be told…
You are to do this…live here…make everything pretty…and be pleasing…
Because if you do not…well…you will be all alone and no one will like you and you know…that means you will be a failure….
This woman…had a car accident which did a whammy on her brain…lowered her IQ points a lot….and she was told…go and do menial tasks…
You will never finish college and you will never be this…or that…and you do not deserve to go here…just accept it…
But…
She faked it until she became it…and she is it…
And millions of others…
Who did all the work…with shaking knees…and being shoved out the door…till one day…IT appeared…
For her it was trying to leave a school and the lady who had taken a chance on her said…NO WAY….plant yourself here…
And the day when a student of hers said…I have to go…I should not be here…she said…NO WAY…plant yourself here…Fake it till you become it…
And she realized…she had become it…
And I need to fake it till I become it….with the gremlins on my coat…
And do the work…and it starts with believing…I got something huge to offer…and it aint Betty Crocker…and I am not allowed(according to who)…that all I am supposed to do is earn a paycheck on someone else’s dream…and I aint my story…
And stop being a story…
Like I said in other posts…
It is just something that happened….and it says nothing about you….and everything about them…and it can either rule you or take a hike…
So start with baby steps…
And do it IMPERFECTLY….
Fake it till you become it….
Becoming it is right around the corner…
So go write that piece and fake it that your a writer…
Go sew that blanket and invent new sewing techniques….
Solder together metal pieces that make your heart swoon…
Make that blueberry crumble with lime instead of lemon…
DO IT…
Fake it till you become it….
And you will realize…
You become it…
Oh my…
How becoming of you….

~ by HopeGlenn on January 16, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
