The matter of romance….

Romance seems to be viewed as a “female” creation…

“Female” desire for…one held only by the gentle..delicate gender…

Hmm who would that be…

I tend to do a lot of thinking..as if that is not obvious to most people who read my blog…

Sleep often does not happen..because it is hard to shut the brain off…

And in this thinking….romance popped up..and said….

Hey I do not get why..we see women as romantic and men as..well doldrums of incapability..in the tender art of wooing another..

So I did a little research..and lo and behold…the great authors of romance..those who publicly spoke and made proclamations..those  who beseech their hopeful lovers….

Were…ahem…MEN….

The great love letters…were written by men…we found or defined as strong..tough..and in no need of amour….yet they began..in most profound ways…the pursuit of letting another know…their heart was loved..and they themselves desired to be conquered by love…

Women especially of the time period..of James Joyce…prolific writers of the time…were known for being the sole sturdy voice of reasoning against..the tiddly winks of love…

Men such as Beethoven..Napoleon…and so many more..languished over letters to lovers..wives..mere acquaintances…who they wished to let know..

They had struck their soul….

So when did the shift happen…and why..?

I cannot say with any clarity..that women started the drive for flowers and candies..and tortuous antics to make romance…sort of like the formation of Valentines Day….

To be honest..I think Valentines Day was created by a man..in corporate..who in this insane world we live in..was at a loss for ideas..and thought..lets just make a holiday..and then my love can be known…(just a thought)…

But the question is this..when did men step back..and be scared..afraid of being vulnerable..

And women step up..demanding..candy…roses and huge jewelry items to prove love…?

Why is this viewed as a need of women..and why are women feeding into it…?

But if you go back and read…”Love Letters of Great Men”..volumes 1-4….you will see romance…

Love kindled in every available form…

And all it started from the one man…who said…hmmm…I want her to know..she is my beauty…

And despite how it may make me look…I want her to know..she is beautiful…

And maybe I say the next point because I am older..and very old school….maybe…

Or maybe..I like romance…

In this form…

Pouring me a cup of coffee…

Telling me..that in the middle of my cycle..that I am still beautiful…

Choosing me..over a video game..not every day…but often enough…

Holding my hand..in public….

Telling me..you will miss me…

Because romance..falls into love..like a sweet merge…

And it has become this scary act of vulnerability…which locks people up…in nice pretty little cages…

And then we drink too much..drug too much..isolate too much..rationalize too much..

And when I read these letters of Great men..and I think they are great men…for one reason..courage…simple…

When I read this..I hear love..romance..a man being a man..not vulnerable or open for slaughter…

But living..rather than numbing…

Not believing that the quick rush…feels good..

But that the quick rush..wounds…

And discovering that the steady rhythm of words..spoken by mouth..paper and pen..voices over a phone..telegraphed through the internet..and through eyes…where no guessing is needed…

Is romance….

And it steadies the path..

And keeps me looking past..the show..the antics of self protection…because in reality..they do not protect…

Keeps me persevering…

Keeps me fighting…

For you…

~ by HopeGlenn on February 28, 2014.

5 Responses to “The matter of romance….”

  1. Fantastic. And terribly tear producing for this girl.

    Like

  2. Am I permitted to discuss this on my twitter?

    Like

  3. how after
    all this time. after all the sentences we traded
    with each other. after every minute that makes
    the miles smaller. he still gets to me. how
    could not get to me.

    this is the part where i need to remind myself
    that he was never mine.

    so lovely, passionate and profound. i love your mind and the way
    you write. my heart hurts and i don’t know
    why and i just found you.
    Love Katie

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
