Got caught smiling…

I smiled..and it felt like the first time…

Because I remembered who they are..and not what they had stained themselves with…

I saw them..and smelled all the sweetness…

And then choice comes..and we figure out..

Do we want to be popular..or dance to my own beat..?

And it is never too late..to change directions…

Heck..I am doing something now..claimed to be for the spry…young 20..something age bracket…

But on a side note..I have not seem many spry..young people…

Most of them seem burdened..and conquering things…I just do not get…

But in the moment with my class mates…

I saw the beauty of being a mother again…

And I could brag again…and toot my horn about my boys..

Because they are knock outs..

And I am their mother…despite any lie..or person stepping into change that…

And I did good…they are so much like me it is silly..

And that never brought a smile before…

I always wanted them to be the polar opposite from me…

Daddy tried his hardest…

Yet..as I watch them from afar..and speak of them to my classmates…

And they say..what a sparkle comes in your eyes…

I think..what a great present…

Who would a thunk…

~ by HopeGlenn on January 23, 2014.

3 Responses to “Got caught smiling…”

  1. The joys of parenthood πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Ah yes…there are points where all one can do is ache..and then you grasp onto the fact…that you did good..and no matter how the cards may fall..you still did good…and were doing what you were supposed to be doing…and you cannot make anybody see anything..and time and life are the best teachers..and that which we wrinkle our nose up at..is the same thing we face…and suddenly our heart grows softer…and we get it…just like the grace of God…always present..we just have to accept it…

      Like

      • It would appear some of us have a lot learn just yet,how I envy those of you with all the wisdom and sense and the experience to see life the way you see it.

        Can’t wait for such a day.

        Like

Leave a Reply

 
