Reality will get you…excommunicated…..

I have been part of a few churches…

But recently I have had the option of exploring what I believed a church should contain..or better said..what it would contain for me…

Reverence…that had to be the top ingredient….

Not reverence for a building..or funds..or the people who filled it…but reverence for God…

The word which rolls to easily off our tongues…and seems to have nothing to do with God….

And in my exploration…I face a reality..we know nothing about God….

And that is how I became excommunicated…like a tick in the heat of summer….

I learned I absorbed…I even held the belief that man..had authority over me.. a question I had put to bed years ago…

Until..I faced it…and spoke it..and asked questions…and said why am I being lied to…

And asked ..how did God become one..that required a resume from His children..blemish free..and full of cash..and driving a Lexus…

When did God start taking applications…?

When did God start doing a credit check…?

When did God ask me to reverence a man…kiss his hand..yet barely give the time of day to listening to God..?

Or even looking past the stained glass windows…and looking outside…?

When did God starting hanging out with those from the right side of the tracks..?

And as a side note..what side is that..?

Because the God I read about…the one…

David pours his heart out to..in painful shame..and tearing of the heart..did not drive a Lexus…

Or the woman at the well…many husbands..lady..her…

Or Rahab..the prostitute..who lead the spies to safety..in her own ummmm..den of iniquity..

Or the thief hanging on the cross…who got got right in that instant…God…

Or those crazy disciples…with all their questions…and running from God…

All these..seem to be what God is…and what God wants…

The You’s and Me’s…..

And I do not see one time..where God says..kiss this man’s hand..call him Eminence…or make sure you are the right color…

I see this…Jesus..God..Holy Spirit…saying follow me..have some faith…mustard seed to start with…there is a guide book…and love me…and love yourself..and love others…

Nothing about shiny colored windows…men in fancy robes…pockets filled to the brim…or being from the right side of the tracks…

Reality..gets you excommunicated….

That is alright…I am from the wrong side of the tracks…

~ by HopeGlenn on December 8, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
