Over the bridge and through the woods…..

is it better to tell a lie which produces a smile…?

OR

tell a truth which produces a tear…?

We are full in on December 1st with the Christmas movie extravaganza…and personally I have a favorite or two..

One to make me think…and another to make me smile…

And throw another one in for good measure..just to remind me…I have a wonderful life…”It’s a wonderful Life”….

The one that makes me think..is a 1994 remake of Miracle on 34th Street..

Most of us know the premise of the movie..it is between proving or disproving the validity of Santa Claus…it deals with issues of the public good..and service..and someone coming to a point in their life..where they ask themselves…what am I doing..and why am I doing it..?

In the courtroom…Dylan McDermott…asks this question…

Is it better to tell a lie..to get a smile..than tell the truth and get a tear…he steps into a pretty tense battlefield here…and I pause..and of course transfer this to me..my life….

We make things too easy for each other…we use the smoke and mirrors…side show..tell a lie..to get a smile…so what happens when the truth arrives…?

Tell a truth and get a tear…and why is that tear related to negative..?

Truth is hard to face..hard to adjust to and sometimes hard to swallow…but I prefer the truth…

I lied to my sons for years…made my history pretty…I came from the sweet side of New York..the one with glittery lights..and sparkly things..and my parents were Mr and Mrs Santa Claus…and I got a smile…but when the truth arrived…I had to admit I had done an injustice…and when it came to face the truth…

Mommy from the ghetto..shaved head..lice filled..starved..and abused…and that is why she was worried and anxious…

Well…it took a minute and it still is a taking…a minute for them to adjust that I am okay..even with that definition..coloring my history…

Because we are taught..to look at people from the wrong side of the tracks as thief’s..creeps..scum..

And we are taught that there is no good in them..and this is how we treat them..because only good heart people come from castles and education at Harvard…

So brain scramble…the lie brought a smile..because it confirmed what had been taught and fed to them in big chunks…because we enact this every day…many moments…

Truth brought a tear…why..?

Because we want to believe the lie…prettier color…easier to swallow..not questioned much…and then we live the lie…

And then try to live the truth…what has happened…well in really simple terms..it just happened..and that takes absolutely nothing from the profoundness of what happened…but it is not who you are…it affects..directs..eases..causes great movements of love..and fear…

Because the 51 year old woman here today…

Yes had lice..a few times..so when she cared for her children..she knew what not to do..she knew clean..and fresh..and sweet kisses..on bath cheeks…

Yes she lived in poverty..and true she and her children did not have much..but you would never know it by the way she could cook and sew…

Yes she was beaten and hurt..and she chose to never beat or hurt another..

She broke the chain…

So…tell a lie…and get a smile…because it sparkles like this world…and is about as empty as this world..and some day you will not be here to feed the meter on the lie…

So tell the truth and get a tear…but here is a wrinkle…maybe…just maybe…it is a gentle tear…

The beginning of great compassion….

~ by HopeGlenn on December 1, 2013.

3 Responses to “Over the bridge and through the woods…..”

  1. So moving my friend. And i have no doubt you are loved all the more for your courage. Im so in awe of you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
