Leaves falling like snow..definitions…

Leaves fall like snow…have you noticed…?

I never see a big whoosh and suddenly the leaves are in a big pile about you….

They trickle down..pulled by a sideways gust….and flutter and dance around you…

Some whirligig a dance around you…some side swipe just past your nose…

And if you stand still for a moment…they twirl..sashay..kiss you…and then fall to the ground at your feet…

Large..gusty winds…swoosh forth gusts filled with leaves..like a sudden shower…and I always stop and look the direction it goes..something wants to be seen…

Like snowflakes…sprinkles from the sky…

Powdered sugar popsicles…

Lightly dancing…like decorations on a cookie….

To a bowl of frosting…filled to the brim with chocolate….

Each different..each having a different definition…place to be… things to do…

Like me..when I walk…

I walk past a cemetery every time I walk…

It is safely protected behind a fence…most avoid looking at it…I look..and avoid the looks of those watching my observance…

I take one lie..one misunderstanding..one falsehood..one misconception…whatever needs to be let go..released..or shown for its incapability to be truth…is left there..

Back to the earth from where it came…stop the life it had…because it was not good…

And I speak to my brother..who was put in this ground…and I smile..because all is not lost…

And when I walk I am again reminded about humanity and our struggle to fit our definitions…

Like the slick back..hair perfect..young business man in designer duds…hoping he will be admired for his physique…because that is how one gets Miss Right…

Like the young mother…running while the child yells…who believes she is not good..perfect..approved..unless she is back in her size 2 jeans…

Like the workers..on a lunch break…straining for 15 minutes of feeling good in their body..

Like the man..breathing heavy and walking..because the doctor told him this was good for him…

Like me…feeling useless…filled with definitions…figuring out why I am doing this…oh yes..to make my spine stronger…

Like the lovers..walking hand in hand…years upon years…

To finally at the end…of each of our walks..runs..jogging the something away…

We can say..I like me…I feel like I have accomplished something..done what was asked of me…

And hopefully..buried..tossed into the leaf pile…one more definition…which does not belong to you…or anyone for that matter…

Gusted away..piled one upon another…until the earth takes them away…

And the wind picks up again…brushes against your cheek…beseeching…turn and look another way…

There is something more..than the things I must do…must think and must feel…

There are leaves falling like snow….

~ by HopeGlenn on November 9, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
