Showing people….

A blog I follow…”The Last Straw”…had a quote up the other day..which I completely agree with…

It said..in my summary..you teach people how to treat you….basically we show others…how we think we should be treated…and the how and why it came into being..is our charge…

And at some point when you find yourself in a situation that smells the same as the other one..just different players….

You figure out..if you want something to be different…like how you are treated…

The reason I bring this up is for this reason…

I found myself being treated poorly…and in some instances I stayed and would abide and thus I was teaching those about me..treat me this way…

And it happened over and over…

In the earlier years of my life..marriage…children…neighbors…I thought I was bound to stay..and just take it…

I knew if I left my marriage…I would be destroyed…and lose everything..and that included my children…so I decided to abide…because at that point..I was not able to bear annihilation…being hated by my children…cause they would not get it…hey they barely do now…

As life progressed..children grew up…had work experiences…I saw all the years of taking it..I had showed my husband and my sons..exactly how to treat me…like I was disposable..no value…and thus they did..

And I have to place some of the responsibility of it on me…in a manner of speaking I told my children and my husband that I was the sacrifice…I could become nothing..so they could have everything…

When I did leave…I knew everything would be gone..and I would be way back from step one..I would be in the negatives…I would experience the wrath of our world..on the imbecile value we place on women…

I do not know if I was any better prepared to handle what would happen…I think I just had enough…

So I left..and the games got serious…

They treated me worse…and everything that could happen..happened…and it continues to this day…and it will continue even when they get their way….and if I was to present myself..head down..ready to have my neck chopped off..I would still be treated the way I showed them..and they choose…

That is the crux of it…once we see something we choose…to do it..or not do it…

Just like my choices to not be treated in that manner…I have removed relationships…left occupations..that were paying good money….walked away from all manner of things…to be treated appropriately…

It is a hard cut into a soul…because it goes against everything we see…everything this world tells us is truth…

And every time you find yourself in the situation…you decide…

And as time moves by..you find the situations less and less in severity…and easier to walk away from…and suddenly you find people…who well to be honest..treat you right…because you showed them..and they want to….

And do not beat on yourself..because once again..you find yourself facing another demon…

We all do it..we all battle…

The quote from the blog is right…

If I stay and be beaten…I will be beaten till I am killed…

We show others…in every action..how to treat us…

Sometimes we stay and allow it because we do not believe we have value..useless in this world…

I looked at it this way…

By my leaving..by me speaking the truth and not allowing myself to be silenced…

Another lifted their head…and moved forward…

That right there..is worth the price of admission….

~ by HopeGlenn on October 31, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
