Rituals..practices..day in and day out…

Rituals….things we do in a theory of practice…to promote a certain behavior..create an atmosphere..an attitude…progress…move forward..heal…

They say that in twenty-one days if you do something over and over…about the same time every day..you will create a habit…

I assume the assumption of the habit is in creating something good..something profitable….worth spending your time on…

And I sure that does happen…yet I see…rituals which create nothing….

I can closely relate this to my latest church experience….

I watched others cross themselves…stare adoringly at icons…kiss the picture sweeter than they do each other…because this is in theory bringing us closer to God..making us humble..awakening our hearts…

Yet…they speak ill of each other…find ways to harm others…and like control…and telling others…this ritual is the only way to get to God…

I have seen them argue over what song to sing….speak of a repentant heart…and then shun the woman wearing slacks….because we all know…God only likes dresses….

I have heard chanted prayers…asking God to keep us thankful for our food…and then watched them tell the guy at the shelter….it would all be better if he stayed off drugs….God will give him food then….

I have watched them analyze..deduct..review a person’s performance during service…and then tell of the ABC’s of how to get to heaven…by following their color in the lines performance….and it definitely involved…a list of rules and regulations…that were harder and longer than calculus….

I see daily lighting of candles…chants…kisses to saints…prayers to those who went before us..(and obviously had a real hard time)…and there is no attitude change..no heart inclined in any direction except self interest….

So what is the point of this….

If I believe that I cross myself many times a day..and that makes me better..safer than someone…yet I scowl and cuss out the check out lady…you really think I am bumped up to the front of the line into heaven…?

If I say from rote memory…prayers thanking God for food…yet ignore someone who needs food…you really think that is God condoned…?

If I treat people with shame…and tell them the only true way is my way….do you really think saying Lord have mercy…will make it better…?

What happens if I do not do these things…?

Am I condemned…do I have no ability to see God…communicate with God…know God…?

Or is all given to me..when wear the right skirt…get to church for the early service…light a zillion candles…cross myself till I lose count…and adoringly stare at icons…rather than you and me…

Do I have my ticket to heaven…?

Or is it about none of those…

And perhaps it is about..action to those in a vulnerable position…one we could easily manhandle but do not…

And what we speak on a daily basis…and what we do…on a daily basis…

And maybe..just maybe..it is not about me wearing a skirt..or how many church things I did..or did I cross my legs…or sang on tune…who how many saints I know that suffered…and I believe we have it so good…

Maybe it is about seeing another…struggling…and instead of telling you how screwed up you are…I tell you how screwed up I am….

And finally…with great hope…we make it better….

~ by HopeGlenn on October 30, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
