A simple question…?

What is more important….people or things…?

Do you think God would be happy to talk to me…accept the gift of my presence…in sweats or jeans..or is a three piece suit required….?

Am I closer to God…because I stand the entire service….or am I just the same as the mother coloring with her child in the back pew…eating fruit bites…?

Am I more advised to speak about God..counsel…because I wear ornate robes..am surrounded by pictures of saints…and allow no one into the back holy area..except those who follow my rules…?

Is God finding one more acceptable because of more plentiful giving..helping out with coffee hour…or just once in awhile attendance….?

Does God want me on His team more if I ignore the person standing alone…because they have tattoos..or does God want me on His team because I have the right dress…from the right store….?

Does God love..maybe like the woman more who married the right man…or the one who is being beaten..and stays because she thinks it is her duty…?

What is God’s criteria…? And perhaps..have we made a criteria and then said it was from God…?

I think we have made a criteria..and then try to sell it as God’s….

Examples…as a young girl…coming from a Catholic background…I lied in confession..made things up…so my father would not knock me across the room…because well we know..everyone is evil and dirty and gross…right…?  And the priest would confirm..that I had made acceptable repentance….whew…just got in there by a punch….

When my father moved us to another state and I entered the Baptist movement..it was memorization of verses…and accumulation of awards..which showed I was closer to God….what about the kids who did none of these…were they disposable to God….?

I could only have communion if I was in continual confession…acted appropriately to my husband..which means total slave….and was baptized..washed clean…and given the stamp of approval..written in the right books….by the church…

But how come I can sit here…and feel God…?

How come I can sip my cup of tea…and be so thankful that I have the cup of tea….talk to God…is that not communion….?

Can I gather with friends..have wine..and break bread..and reference the verse…of Jesus…saying…”as often as you do this, do it in remembrance of me…”..or how about having a pot of soup and biscuits…and being aware..so aware that the food is there…not because I went to thirty events this week at church…but I took what God spoke to me and put it to good use…perhaps…?

Am I to be ignored..pushed aside because I will not follow “your” rules…or am I something to God…and living His purpose..not yours….?

Can I make decisions in my own life…or do I need the church..those who have been practicing longer..to tell me what to do…?

Or is there a chance…we already know…?

Is there a possibility…God cares nothing about my job..status…money quantity…rituals..perhaps..?

And only wants me…?

Tattoos..jeans with holes in them…no money to give so the church can have an organ…no affiliation..so I have no false power….just me…

Heart..body and soul…51…cranky at times…more oops than I can count…standing up for my beliefs..seeing God in everything…and refusing to settle for lies…or I cannot do something….

Does God want me..you…or does He want the slippery money passed into the altar plate..disguised as useful..but really is a payoff…not only to God..but to all of us…you know..us people…

~ by HopeGlenn on October 25, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
