Why Not…?

I have to say…I do not like quotes….cute little statements….that ignore the basic issue..lurking underneath…

Quotes like…I was sad because I had no shoes..but then I saw someone with no feet…

Why cannot I be sad because I have no shoes….?

Why do we always have to stuff ourselves in a box…pretend we are not in need…and find someone worse off than we are…? Why…?

Are we only worthwhile human beings when we….show only concern for others…?

How can we show concern for others…when we cannot show concern for ourselves…?

Does it not start..here…? With me…

How can I enact care..assistance to another if I do not first begin it with me…

One cannot love unless they love themselves…it is true..

One cannot find value in another..until one finds value in self….

One cannot see beauty..unless one sees beauty in self…

One cannot make change…if one is stuck in ignoring self…treats themselves as useless…not worthy of care…

It is like a boomerang…it is going to come back and smack you in the head…and hard…

I am not talking about seeing oneself as the beauty queen..or the best gift to women everywhere…

I am not talking about thinking you hold the keys to the kingdom….and we all got it wrong…..

I am not talking about doing something for someone…and waiting..waiting for them to give you their heart on the pretty pink dish…

How about this…

Complete yourself….

Do not be with someone to complete you..or go along with the rouse…or bows to your demands…

How about listening…and being listened to….

How about thinking no food sucks..and I am tired of being hungry…and how can I get fed..without someone else going hungry….

How is it..anyone goes hungry in our country….? (side bar)

I cannot get you…until I get me…

I cannot do anything..until I seek to find out what it feels like on the other side of the looking glass…

Until I can say….”it sucks…I have no shoes…and winter is on the doorstep…”

Then I am ready…to do something….

~ by HopeGlenn on October 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
