Pillar of Salt…..

We all lie….nothing new…we all give time to creating the fine art of embellishing….

Those little…slips that become monsters as they progress from “Oh I meant this”…to “did you hear about so and so”…and in our mind nothing really….yet it is as destructive as me walking through a day care with a chainsaw….

I started looking at it this way recently….

“If you have the balls to lie about someone..have the courage to face the firing squad..when they realize what you have done”….

If I have the get up to lie about someone or something(and in truth I am doing it to cover up some gross thing I am doing) then I better be prepared…have the courage to face the firing squad with machine guns…

I am addressing this..because I have noticed our human frailty when we are confronted with one who well…has had a rough road…putting it mildly…

Like a childhood of abuse….and then spending young adult years trying to locate oneself…and not want to die….

Or losing a child to a inhumane disease..or a drunk driver..or an addict who said they were fine….

Or being raised in the ghetto and they are not just in New York…having no food..no clothes and eating out of dumpsters and hiding how dirty we are so the kids do not laugh at us…

Or losing a parent to a battle which started before you were a twinkle in their eye….

These are the people we lie about…because if we can lie about them..and get enough people standing on our side of the line….all hmmmmming that yep they are crap….then in our skewered hearts we look better….

And one has to keep adding to the lie…over and over again…embellishing till it looks like a parade float…but a really tacky parade float….

We make up things…because we have to…until we see that person being stripped of everything they value…and then we smile…

And as long as we can keep the attention on how horrible the other person is…we can keep all at bay for the reality of us…and we see the pile of doo doo we are smothered up to our eyelids in…but we keep the dance up….because we cannot be alone….and how will we survive alone…the way we made another survive…we cannot…

And the saddest…cut to the quick of ones heart is not us…

It is the one we decimated…cut into pieces and those we drew into our web of lies….

The one we lied about..spends a lifetime…everyday…finding who God says they are…and they sit quietly in a space..with tears and a smile…and get glimpses of who they are….

Because God cares for us…like He says….

He says I will show you what you are….look at me….

He lets you know you had the greatest courage…because you walked away from that…right to God…even though it cost you all that the world values….

It is not an easy road….walking away from that…not easy at all….

It tests and stretches every belief you hold…

And it reminds you that what the mouth speaks…it what the heart holds…

It makes you sink into what you are….and it aint nothing like you have been described as….

One day…you wake up…and it is like Alice in Wonderland as she is in the Looking Glass and the Mad Hatter looks at her and says…..”Alice don’t you remember who you are”?…..how did one forget….?

My landscape has changed…my perspective is altered…I am looking fully in the direction of God now…

I spend moments with the pangs…the feeling of hurt…that in itself allows me to feel for others….and sadness of the choices to be so well…..hurting…it is a choice…

And I chose to lose everything this world values…and if you are curious…look at the magazine covers….it will take but a moment…

Because I do not have the guts….nope…nope…to stand in front of God….and “oh..hum..ummm….it was deserved” garbage coming out of my mouth….giving excuses of why I played the game…..

It reminded me of something I did about a month ago….

I was leaving a building…could not do the debauchery anymore….and in my mind I said”turn around…one last look”….and God grabbed me by the hand and said….”remember Sodom and Gomorrah…the one last look at sin so lovingly…”…and I stayed forward…and kept on moving….

Lies and having such a loving affection for lies….equal destruction….and we have such a fondness for it…

Yet we have lost our fondness for others….

Too long have I played the game…been part of the orchestra….

Now I get God….get why He says…cut it off…pluck it out…if it causes you to sin….

I am most thankful….that my body parts are still intact….because anymore time in this….well….we can all visualize….yep yep….

~ by HopeGlenn on August 19, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
