Cool Beans….

My favorite phrase….”COOL BEANS”….I have no idea how it came about….I do not know where I heard it…it just became part of my vocabulary….

Like when I get something….when it hits you…when I figure out  a design issue that is in my cranium and will not let me sleep….or when I see…and/or feel wonders….

This morning as I sat on the porch…sipping tea…soothing ways….the sun moved up the skyline and I saw   well…COOL BEANS…..

Right above the car…delicately balanced between the maple and the pine tree…arched up to the sky…slightly anchored to the antenna on the car….was a spiders web…..slowly being lit up by the sun…bit by bit..sparkly…lace like…with a slight sway to the breeze….

It was not all whole and pristine…it had gaps…like perhaps raindrops had played on it like a trampoline…

And another area had a hole through it…about the size of a bird who in its zoom zoom…swoop swoop..had collided right into it…and was not able to brake…and swam through it like a dive into the pool….movement…accelerate..impact…push through….

As I sat there and the sun moved through its course..it grew and grew….and I saw all this work..it was like a story….and it was not a fairy tale….but it was beautiful..even more so than when it had begun…

And it made me think of some people I know….who have really struggled in this life….who have weaved…and connected one dot to another….and then had a bird…tragedy..disaster…assault…shattered dreams…make a great big hole….in the beautiful picture….

And they were balancing between two wobbly, splintered sticks….and I thought how are they here….?

And I thought…God….

The desire to know why we are here…and even those who we view as having pointless lives…have so much to show us….

How they teach us to feel….

How we finally see what is beautiful….

How we spend so much time acquiring…and when we look around we have nothing….

It gave me one more reason to smile today…because I had an important meeting today….and I should have been all nervous…and having my heart race…because I wanted them to like me….think I was the stuff…you know what I mean…especially with fifty-one zooming in….

And I was not nervous and I smiled a lot…like crazy a lot….and the whole time we talked I kept seeing that spider web….

Sparkling in the sun…barely hanging on to some shaky sticks….stretched way past my limits….but it loosened up some things….big hole..from some crazy thing I thought I needed…or something that did not need to be said or done to me….delicate..fragile….yet damn strong…and smiling…and yes I like myself…and am walking in the right direction and aint nothing taking me off track….and it does not matter what someone else thinks of me..from what they think I am…it matters what God thinks of me…and then me….what do I think….

I am not resilient and strong because I have had to bounce back…and accepted things…cause that is the way they are…and I have learned how to operate in a lost world…

No I am resilient and strong because I have fought for light in the lost world…and said “nope this is not okay”…

And beauty does not come in a jar….

It comes in the form of a spider web…hanging tenaciously on by a few crazy strands…perched high above the ground…swaying to the breeze….with a great big hole in the center….and it is still there….

And I said COOL BEANS…..because I got….the creation we are…and what we are intended to be…

Yeah…COOL BEANS…..

~ by HopeGlenn on August 13, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
