Independence Day…use or misuse…?

I wonder how many of us recognize the enormity of the gift we have been given through independence…?

Do we “get” what others have gone through..suffered…done..so we can sit around and whine about our lattes…?

I do not think we do..and I will be the first to raise my hand…both…

I never really captured inside my being..until the VFW..Veterans of Foreign Wars came to my place of employment…and people made fun of them and said they were too much work..and cranky…

These are the men and women who fought..face to face…to acquire this dream..or thought labeled American Pride…

I never got it really..to where it was a conscious thought…till I had a conversation with a liar…

One who claimed they had no money to go see ailing parents…because they had used their funds to pay bills…

When actually they had money sitting in a safe place to feed the addiction…and keep it fed and watered and bursting with life…and let true responsibility..independence…wither along the roadside….and I gave my time and energy to it…telling them that this was important..their lies..theft..and that life had no value….till it tightened me up…

We all have been there…making it all okay…

Don’t you think it is time we stop….?

Today I work…and I am glad…because I can…someday that option may not be available to me…

Today I take one more step into my independence..which is in reality total dependence on God…I do not even get to breath without Him…

I focus my attention on the care of those surrounding me…

Not allowing another to make me feel guilty or justify their actions through something really positive I did…just with the wrong person about..make sense..?

Independence…hmmm…I get to choose….and you better believe it is for the light……

~ by HopeGlenn on July 4, 2013.

One Response to “Independence Day…use or misuse…?”

  1. BRAVO ! (claps hands)

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
