Same or different…?

That is a question I asked myself recently….

Am I the same..would you have no problem recognizing me…

At work..versus…home…versus church..versus out to eat…versus a drink or two under my belt…?

Am I the same person in those times and especially during the times that test my word..morals and ethics…?

Or am I someone different..applying myself to each occasion…as needed….?

I had the opportunity to experience..probe into that arena…a few times in the last week….

One opportunity arrived at my place of employment…

I discovered that people twist..re-color an ethic or moral mainly because they do not believe that moral and ethic…and cannot support it in their belief system….and it shows when well….the mashed potatoes hit the fan…

I discovered that people whose voices should be spoken..remain silent…due to fear..losing their job…and many cannot grasp it because we live in a world which supports and caters to a certain dynamic…

And those of us who should speak…remain silent out of misplaced loyalty..someone will not like them…things may get a bit tough…and you might leave your job…and it consumes….

Well I spoke..and then got real scared…because I am the new kid on the block….and my appearance fits many stereotypes…

I was afraid…I would lose hours…or shunned to the corner…maybe thought as a blabber mouth…any and all scenarios went through my mind…

And then I paused in my manic frenzy…and thought…my oh my..you supported a moral..you supported an ethic…you stepped into God…and out of the box…

And I paused again..and I looked about..and thought..how else can I do this..how am I missing the boat on this..?…and how am I living this…?

Am I keeping my word….?

Or am I keeping it only when it causes me the least amount of grief….?

Am I consistent in my behaviors….?

Or am I the scary person no one wants to mess with..or gets…?

Do I grasp..what it means to follow through..even when I get nothing along the course or even in the end….?

Or do I venture only down highways that are known..productive in my description..and are safe…?

Do I understand that I have just as much and probably more problems than the person I am pointing a finger at…and telling them how to run their life…?

I have had a couple of opportunities..visible to me…to have words meet action…

A bit uncomfortable at first….made me catch my breath…but I did it…

And guess what….the world did not end…..shocking huh….?

~ by HopeGlenn on June 25, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
