Something to make me sit up straighter….

Is that not the saying…? That made me sit up straighter..pay attention…not quite focus on me…

Some things made me sit up straighter today…

One…Peonies in the farmers market..and the intoxicating pull of their simple..old school beauty…reminded me of Maureen O Hare..simplicity….my mother…Charlotte Joan Carroll…

Made me remember how the simplest of gestures…the smallest of steps can change a course..can refresh..uplift…how one can not allow another to direct or designate who they will be…because they cannot see their hand in front of their face….

Two…Strawberries sweet and divine…red..ripe…with a touch of honey…

Made me remember and think about eating strawberries with my sons…puckering once or twice…and how nothing that happens can change the fact that I love them…

Three..Sharing a meal…cheese pizza…like they make in New York…and being sliced and diced…to make themselves feel better..and realizing we rely to much on others to be a human being…

Four..reading a quote…

“Humility is not thinking less of yourself, it is thinking of yourself less”… C. S. Lewis

It made me sit up straighter…adjust my attitude…stop giving energy to the fun house ride…and realizing…I got it made..I live in paradise…there is nothing for me to complain about…and if there is..it is by my own hand…I allowed angst..hate..control in…and love left the building….

Hmm…not thinking I am less…no self deprecation…just taking the focus off of me…and looking at this majestic world…

Isn’t that love…?

~ by HopeGlenn on May 20, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
