Something a bit more interesting….

I had a comment made..found it humorous..more humorous that someone took the energy to say it…it was…”talk about something more interesting…say something more interesting…”…I had that message one other time and it always makes me smile…because I have a general idea of whom it is from…and that comes from my subject material that many of my blog posts cover..so I think I know who it is and can possibly be…but that is secondary to the reason..the thought of why another would ask me or rather insult me to write about something “more interesting”…something they would hope would be less revealing..put them more at ease in living their life…

And I was there this morning….

I wanted my day to have been better than I thought it was ending up…

I wanted to do the things that…well…made me look better…

It is the day before Palm Sunday in my faith..last couple of days have been busy in preparation for Holy Week…it has been the ending of the 40 day fast…and into some sobering…somber moments in my life…

The 40 days is not much about food withdrawal..it is about what things in our lives are idols..take precedence over God..what are you struggling with…and what do you need to see..recognize…assimilate..and it is a deeply private time..you and God and those of your faith as silent companions on this journey…

The beginning was hard for me..because I am a student..a researcher..it is how I learn…I wanted to make sure…and I know many can relate…I was doing this right…and I never expected what happened along the way..and then suddenly it was over and Holy Week was present in front of me…

It was hard at work…because I had to explain…and decline invitations to go out…and I had to do it without judgement or tone in my voice..oh that was fun..and I am glad it was fun..because it makes one think about how they present their beliefs…and is it in love…or am I rubbing another nose in it….

I had to evaluate my life…every little corner of it…

And I had to speak truth…

And I had to care for me…relatively new action….

I had to figure out why I was or was not doing something….

I have not been able to do bible study because I work….but I do it on my own…and seek counsel from those I know grasp some things better than me…and why was I doing this..continuing without my classmates around me..?…because I wanted to keep pursuing God….

I continue on Sunday services..a point which has no negotiation…not even my health..I apologize for me yawning..because it is not personal..or has anything to do with what is happening…it has to do with working late…and this 50 year old body..just is a wee bit tired…

Today I was supposed to help make crosses out of palms..and I did not…I slept..because the night had been short…and I was needed elsewhere…

With a friend..who is not feeling well…and a friend who I said I would be there…who even if I did nothing at all but just abide with them…made the path easier for them…

And I was disgruntled..I wanted to go and help..in reality show them that I was good at helping..and I could be there…but it was not where I was supposed to be…and that is why I was disgruntled…upset that today did not go my way…

So I walked straight to God with my behavior…and stated how it was more important for me to be there..making crosses..doing God’s work….pause for extreme laughing….

I am doing God’s work..but the question that has arisen is this..How was I doing God’s work…?

And that snapped me right back into focus…right back into task…took the slump from my shoulders…and a smile now creased my lips…and I am writing about something more interesting….

And I have to laugh…because even this person…who meant to insult me…with their words to write about something more interesting..made me realize my selfishness…my vain glory…my desire to be noticed as someone…

So as the saying goes..”what one means for evil..God intends for good….”

So thank you to the one who decided a second time to insult me and tell me I should be writing about something interesting…I might..but I do not think it will be your topics…

It will be about subjects that reveal life on this planet that is quickly forgetting what life is…

It will be about revealing that my motive today was about selfishness…and it needed correction..and God used you…to help work that place in me..and for that I can only be thankful…

It will be about all those tasks one goes about doing…and it makes one spin in circles…

It will be about “why” and “how come”…

Thank You…..

~ by HopeGlenn on April 27, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
