Decent….hmmmm….

Sometimes…if we are able to hear…still ourselves for a moment and quite possibly longer….one can hear..thoughts..inspirations..actions…being given to us…through the voice of others…

I do not like to admit…that others looking into my life..may have a perspective I cannot see…perhaps because I do not want to see it…or maybe..just maybe I am so entrapped within my own perspective..so preoccupied with the thoughts of myself..that I cannot see this perspective..this view of myself…

I have had a bit of a bumpy ride in my life…and to be honest..I would not change a thing…I might add in a few things…maybe have a time period of knowing my mother…being her twin..in more ways than I know…and having my brother a few more than eighteen years of my life and the short twenty-three of his…yet I would change very little or hope for difference..different choices..or steps…

Because I love where I am at..and to be honest..as I look about this world….I do not know if I would have come to this spot…this glorious place..without those movements in my life…because not for a second would I believe..that I would somehow come to some clarity…it is only the grace of God..the hope of the living heart…and others who have taught me lessons…

Some which I did not want to learn…some I was all too eager to learn…and some which came whether I wanted to or not….

This blog post is in a thank you to a friend…a man…who as he put it..is decent..

Oh the word decent…we like to put that word in definition of the minimum….

Decent..I did the decent thing….I could have kicked them…but I only pushed a button or two…

Decent…do we really know the decent thing to do..?…because it falls in line with the “right” thing to do…

Like providing food to one who has none…or eats a lot less than us…

Warmth…to one who bears the cold..bitter wind of winter…

Engaging one in conversation…who stands upon the street corner…asking in the only way they know…

Decent…this man I know and have known for ten years..maybe more…is decent…

And I give him the credit..the kudos for decent..to a man…not something I do very often..or have thought about many men…

And decent is such a light word..lacking in definition and embellishment for this man…

And I liked that he provoked me to think differently…which causes different thoughts…different actions..and a different heart pattern…

This man..has always..even when he had less than me…made sure I had food…and even food for my sons…

He listened to me..and allowed my rantings..when I screamed about how God hated me…he knew I had to go through the valley to get to the mountain…

He anchored himself to me..even when I pushed..screamed..yelled..rejected…and was a beast…he stayed and did not question…

When I asked…he answered…and gave when I did not even grasp that I was in need…

He saw me..in a light..I barely comprehend…

To this man…and you know who you are…I say thank you..and that comes up short…

Before I speak..you answer the question…

You slowed me from maniac acceleration…to constant…contemplative steps…

You have taught me the value of my smile…

You have shown me that the talent of these hands and this mind..far surpass what I think I can do..

You include me in your precious prayers…and ask for God’s grace to fall upon me…

You have taught me that there are real…loving hearts on this planet..this orb we dwell on…and I can be part of that crowd…

You have shown me…decency…in a world that is barely tolerable..and has decided violence is the best action…

You have given me a great and mighty gift…sometimes I want to hold it close and let no one get even a peek…

Yet..I open my arms wide….and show you off like a gem…bright and colorful…

There are not enough words….not enough hugs…not enough..to encompass my thanks…my gratitude…my awe of your choice to be the “decent” man…

Decency….roll that over on your tongue..look it up…

It is way more..than making sure the door does not hit me on the way out…or telling me to stay warm as one watches the cold wind whip about me…it is giving way more than we think we have…because we as people have so much more than we think…

It is not saying”bless your heart” …and really wishing the person would go away or die…so one does not have to be reminded of our ability to ignore…

Decent…alive..hope abounding…extending the hand when we barely know how…trust…never earned..but knowing this person deserves that….

Decency…decent….without it…I may not be here..able to say thank you…and with the awareness..the clear thought..that decency..is a word..a verb…not an adjective..that needs..must become…a vaster part of my life…and must increase moment by moment…

~ by HopeGlenn on February 7, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
