Thankful for…

It is the day past Thanksgiving…and I am writing about what I am thankful for….

I read post after post this week about families gathering and writing out what they were thankful for….something..I know I need to do everyday….and maybe more than once…

Yet here is my thankful list for the am..from where I am sitting…at 6:52am…maybe some can relate…because the list is a bit different…

I am thankful..I had the courage to say no yesterday…because it is hard when you want someone to like you..think you are cool…you know..go with the crowd..thankful I would not get in the car..because they were you know “high”..and they can handle it….yeah like I can handle a chain saw with seizures..get the point…

I am thankful..I was with them one time before they mowed down a pedestrian..I got to be the alert…that is a shameful position to be in…one that places you before God…over and over again…and pleads for the courage to stop worrying about acceptance..and go out and love in this world…

I am thankful…the hot cocoa I had..alone…and the peanut butter sandwich I ate..watching the leaves blow…

I am thankful for the lack of sleep…night after night..because it makes me seek harder…and move out of darkness and into light…

I am thankful…I have found all spaces with God..not just churches..or deep spots of prayer…but here..abiding…and I can pray..talk with God..when my hands are sewing..cleaning..cooking..walking to the store…even lying in bed..wishing sleep would overtake me for 5 minutes..at least…

It is difficult..to narrow down what I am thankful for..because there are so many things..These are the things I carried for this moment…like stepping out of bed…and doing the balancing act of achey shaky….my private dance with Parkinson’s…

I am thankful I got to wonder where my sons where..and what were they doing…and all I could do is smile and remember the hand turkeys we would make…and that makes me pray harder for them..not for God to come smack them around..never..but for God to wrap his arms around them and whisper love in their ears…

Finally..I am thankful..I am still here..mentally…loss of my self can come at any moment…so I cling to the truths..my identity..the fact that all God made is good…

I hope you all had a good Thanksgiving…

I hope as we move into winter…you have stored up all the love and light you can..and remember..especially when it gets real cold…

I am thankful for you…and I really hope..someone has told you so….

~ by HopeGlenn on November 23, 2012.

One Response to “Thankful for…”

  1. great words to be thankful for…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
